Skip to page content

Keeping Young Workers Safe

Filed in Child Labor, DOL, Español, Safety, Youth By on January 28, 2016

young worker in the kitchen of a restaurant

My first job was at a small grocery store, and it was an important rite of passage for me. Like millions of teens who work part-time and during school breaks, I gained valuable skills from this early exposure to the world of work. My employers made sure that my work was safe and fairly compensated.  Not every young worker is so lucky, and when laws are ignored, some teenagers suffer tragic consequences.

Lee este artículo en español.

There was the 14-year-old from Middlefield, Ohio, who had his hand amputated because he was allowed to operate a wood planer. There was the 17-year-old  in Murrayville, Georgia, who lost part of his thumb after being required to operate a press break and a sheer cutting machine at a metal fabrication shop. And in Canton, Ohio, a 17-year-old lost his left leg below the knee when his employer had him clean a liver-giblet chiller machine at a chicken processing facility.

All of these tasks are prohibited under the Fair Labor Standards Act.

In each of these cases, the department’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration cited the employer for safety violations. In the third case, OSHA also cited the employer for failing to report the amputation to the agency within 24 hours. The Wage and Hour Division also  investigated each of these employers, and in each case found that the teen worker who was injured had been performing the kind of work the FLSA prohibits.

Under the FLSA, you have to be at least 18 to work in jobs that the Secretary of Labor says are  hazardous. Also, if you are 14 or 15 you can only work during limited periods of time in a variety of jobs as long as they don’t involve mining, manufacturing, or anything hazardous.

There is no amount of money that will compensate for the loss of a child’s hand or leg. These kinds of tragic accidents, which could have been prevented had the employers followed the rules, will affect these young workers for the rest of their lives. We at the Labor Department are committed to ensuring that employers take their obligations under safety and health regulations and child labor laws seriously and ensure that young workers are kept safe on the job.

Learn more about the laws around child labor here or call our toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) for more information.

Ernest Weiss III is the senior adviser for the child labor branch of the Wage and Hour Division.

 

Protegiendo a los trabajadores jóvenes

El primer trabajo que tuve fue en una pequeña tienda de comestibles. Nunca olvidaré esa experiencia, especialmente porque esa exposición temprana al mundo laboral me enseñó valiosas habilidades. Eso mismo les pasa a millones de adolescentes que trabajan a medio tiempo y durante las vacaciones escolares.

Mis patrones se aseguraron que mi trabajo se realizaba en condiciones de seguridad y se pagaba correctamente. Pero no todos los trabajadores jóvenes son tan afortunados. Lamentablemente, algunos sufren trágicas consecuencias cuando sus empleadores no cumplen con las leyes o simplemente las ignoran.

A un muchacho de 14 años de Middlefield, Ohio, se le tuvo que amputar una mano porque le dejaron operar una máquina alisadora de madera. En Murrayville, Georgia, un joven de 17 años perdió parte de un dedo pulgar después de que en un taller de fabricación de piezas de metal se le pidiera operar una prensadora y una máquina para cortar láminas Y en Canton, Ohio, otro joven de 17 años sufrió la pérdida de su pierna izquierda , justo por debajo de la rodilla, cuando su empleador le dijo que limpiara una máquina enfriadora de hígados en una planta procesadora de pollos.

Todas estas tareas están prohibidas bajo la Ley de Normas Razonables de Trabajo (FSLA, por sus siglas en inglés).

En cada uno de los casos que acabamos de mencionar, la Administración de Seguridad y Salud Ocupacional del Departamento de Trabajo de EE.UU. sancionó el empleador por violaciones de seguridad ocupacional. En el tercer caso, OSHA también multó el empleador por no informar de la amputación a OSHA dentro de un plazo de 24 horas. La División de Horas y Salarios también investigó a cada uno de estos empleadores, y en cada caso se determinó que estos jóvenes trabajadores habían estado realizando el tipo de tareas que precisamente prohíbe la FLSA.

Bajo la FSLA, hay que tener por lo menos 18 años para la realización de faenas que el Secretario de Trabajo considera peligrosas. De igual modo, si tienes 14 o 15 años, sólo puedes trabajar en algunas ocupaciones durante períodos de tiempo limitados y siempre que no involucren ni minería, ni manufactura, ni conlleven peligro.

Ninguna cantidad de dinero podrá compensar la pérdida de la mano o la pierna de un niño. Este tipo de trágicos incidentes, que podrían haberse prevenido si los empleadores hubieran seguido las reglas, afectarán a estos jóvenes trabajadores por el resto de sus días. Nosotros aquí, en el Departamento de Trabajo, estamos comprometidos a asegurarnos que los empleadores cumplan seriamente con sus obligaciones bajo las regulaciones de seguridad y salud ocupacional, y de trabajo infantil, y garanticen que los trabajadores jóvenes estén seguros en el trabajo.

Presione aquí para más información sobre las leyes de trabajo infantil o llame a la línea de ayuda gratuita al 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243).

Ernest Weiss III es asesor de la rama de trabajo infantil de la División de Horas y Salarios.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Edward Taylor says:

    The University of Tennessee Construction Industry Research and Policy Center (CIRPC) is also passionate about young worker safety. We created and sponsor an award winning website called Working Safely Is No Accident. http://ilab.engr.utk.edu/cirpc/

    This site, targeted towards young workers, won the grand prize in the DOL Worker Safety and Health App Challenge in 2013. http://www.dol.gov/dol/apps/2013AppWinners.htm

    Please visit our page and help us spread the word – Working Safely Is No Accident.

  2. Brian Kanouse says:

    The key in this message is that workers under 18 years of age are prohibited from running power equipment just for the reasons cited.