Cracking Down on Pay Schemes that Cheat Workers out of Millions in Overtime Pay


Editor’s note: This blog post was originaly published on June 2014. We are sharing it again in light of a case in which six Gulf Coast staffing agencies agreed to pay more than 3,000 workers nearly $3.5 million in back wages after U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division investigators found that the staffing agencies mislabeled their employees’ wages as per diem payments. Read the press release.

As more and more companies begin outsourcing key business functions and enlisting the help of staffing agencies to provide workers, a fissure forms in the workplace, disrupting traditional employment relationships. Without a direct employee-employer relationship, these companies oftentimes mistakenly relinquish employer responsibilities which can have an adverse impact on workers who might experience a loss of benefits, inadequate health and safety protections, and sometimes lower pay. The Wage and Hour Division promotes compliance with a number of laws which impact almost every industry in the United States. One way to reach the 7.3 million establishments and 135 million employees covered by WHD laws in the U.S. is through planned initiatives like the one launched 2 years ago in the temporary staffing industry by the division’s New Orleans District Office. Recognizing the valuable and the important role that these employers play in today’s economy, the Wage and Hour Divisions’ Southwest and Southeast Regions began directed investigations to address concerns about the industry practice of misclassifying a portion of worker’s earnings as per diem payments. Per Diem Pay Schemes The investigations under the temporary staffing initiative uncovered evasive per diem schemes through which companies misclassified a portion of workers’ earnings as per diem payments. Per diem payments are compensation for living expenses incurred on behalf of the employer, such as transportation, meals, and lodging. These payments were not included in employees’ gross wages for purposes of determining the regular rate of pay on which overtime is paid. By characterizing the wages as per diem, the employers were attempting to pay overtime premiums on an artificially low regular rate due to the exclusion of alleged per diem payments from regular rate determinations. Therefore, workers were denied correct overtime compensation resulting in violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act. The per diem payments are also not considered wages which means they were excluded from both state and federal taxes. The Cost of Failing to Comply Schemes such as per diem mischaracterization are illegal, and the Wage and Hour Division is actively pursuing unlawful pay practices such as these. In the past two years, employers have paid millions in back wages after investigations revealed bogus per diem payments. Such was the case for three agencies operating along the Gulf Coast:

  • B&D Contracting, Inc., Houma, LA based labor recruiting and staffing agency that caters to the oil field services and maritime fabrication facilities along the Gulf Coast, agreed to pay $1.6 million in back wages to 1,543 current and former employees.
  • Hutco, Inc., a major industrial services employment agency headquartered in Broussard, LA agreed to pay $2 million in back wages to 2,267 employees assigned to client work sites throughout Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas.
  • Savard Marine Services, Inc., construction services employment agency out of Baton Rouge, LA, agreed to pay 107 workers $59,209 in back wages.

In addition to paying their workers the wages they were rightfully due, these employers signed compliance agreements committing to specific assurance measures to prevent future violations of the FLSA. The Wage and Hour Division also made referrals to report companies’ practices to the Internal Revenue Service and applicable State Workforce Commissions. In the end, cutting costs and shorting workers comes with a hefty price tag. Changing Compliance Behaviors The good news is that employers in the industry are responding to the findings of this initiative by choosing to comply. During investigations in 2014, the division found that some companies had changed their pay practices before an investigator even knocked on their door. This type of response is the change in employer behavior we work to accomplish every day. Inspiring employers to comply with the law proactively is essential to achieving compliance across industries and shared prosperity. Want to Learn More? Employers who are committed to compliance should take proactive steps to learn more about the requirements of the law. Visit the Wage and Hour Division website, or call 1-866-4US-WAGE. Cynthia Watson is the regional administrator for the Wage and Hour Divisions Southwest region.

  1. Eighty Years Later: The Fair Labor Standards Act
  2. A Proactive Approach to Labor Law
  3. Positive Changes in the U.S. Senate Cafeteria
  4. Employers and the Law: How We Help
  5. Help for Southern Utah Pecan Ranch Child Laborers


For help with your particular situation, please call our Wage and Hour Division at 866-4US-WAGE. You can also find your closest office here:

I am wondering if I am due back payment for overtime worked over a period of 8 plus years that did not get paid to me. I was required to sign a contract to a set amount salary but with that salary my minimum wage received was only $4.00 per hour.

I work in the oil fields in West Texas. I was wondering if the way our company pays us is legal. We are on a 40 hour per week salary, plus over time for anything over 40 hours. However, the company threatens to pay you hourly if you do not meet your 40 hours for that week. When dividing out the salary per week by 40 hours, and then comparing it to the "over-time" pay we are paid over40 hours, it is more like a half time pay; not even matching the pay we would be paid per hour in the first 40 hours if we were paid hourly instead of salary. Please let me know if my co-workers and I have a case. I wont even begin to describe the unsafe practices that we are basically forced to do while they look the other way so they have deniability, but the management knows that we need the money. Thanks for any advice you have for me.

Is it right if a company pays you a per diem for the week and then takes it back out of your paycheck?

I make 17.69 per hour, 40 hours a week. I get paid biweekly. However my employer calculates my pay as 17.6868, which is 25-26 cent less when added. but 17.69 is what's showing on my pay check. When i questioned this i was told they never add your hours by the whole amount of your base pay rate. Is this legal.

Who do I contact in regards to my employer paying me less than half of the GSA per diem that Im supposed to be paid for residing in Oak Creek, WI but working in Rochester, MN ? Especially when there are a couple of other contracting companies that are paying their employees at that same facility, the full GSA per diem standard, which is $120 for lodging and $64 for food and incidentals ?

I work with a contract company who is currently contracted with a power company. The power company pays them a certain amount per day for each employee staying out of town. The company I work for in turn pays us a set amount ( say if the receive 80$ Per man we get 25 and the rest goes to cover hotel cost ) in another instance tho if an employee pays out of his pocket for all of his exspenses (hotel cost, food, etc) he was always allowed the full 80$... my question is, recently tho the amount payed by the power co. Per man has went up to 100$ but the company we work for is only paying out 80$ to those of us who pay for all our exspenses.. the reasoning according to them is they are losing money and this is how they are breaking even.. even tho if we don't stay overnight and drove back home they wouldn't receive any per diem from the power co. For that employee.. is it legal for them to hold back that extra 20 a day that is payed to that employee?

I'm a Catholic School secretary/ registrar/Office manager. Am I required by law to go on hourly pay when I want to stay on Salary? I have been told I have to and I won't be given any overtime. I have been working overtime for 12 years.

Renee, please call our Wage and Hour Division to discuss your situation: 1-866-487-9243.

The company I work for pays $26.66667 a day per diem. The national rate for the area I worked is $93.00 per day. Can I be reimbursed for the difference?

Trent, please call our Wage and Hour Division at 1-866-4USWAGE (1-866-487-9243). You can also find your closest local office here:

I work for a company and believe the customer is paying per diem, is it legal for my employer not to pay this per diem to the employees ?

Sean, please call our Wage and Hour Division at 1-866-4USWAGE (1-866-487-9243). You can also find your closest local office here:

What if my manager lied to payroll about my actual hours I worked and said if I was paid for the Actual time I worked the monthly budget would change and I would end up being paid less every paycheck. I never had any days off, worked anywhere from 8 to 14 hours a day, and when I was sick and not able to work I was fired. What do I need to do?

My son is working for a company that pays the temporary agency daily per diem for when they are working out of state.

They wanted to keep 1/2 of the daily per diem if he did not work 4+ hours even though they still have to pay for the hotel, etc. The company who hired them was not aware until we reported it to them. Also, it is my understanding that per diem has to be separate from regular payroll so that it is not taxable, correct?

My second job is a part-time position in sales. I work 20 hours per week for this position, and have been working there for almost two years. Last summer, they changed the commission scale abruptly. Now, the main criteria on how we get paid commission is dependent on the number of completed sales that we get during the month. The problem for me is, I am the only part-time sales agent, and they do not make any accommodations; such that I have to adhere to the same number scale as the full-time agents. Which isn't fair, as I put in the same effort, and sometimes even more effort, as I work in the evening. So, ...if I get 70 sales in a month with my 20 hours, I'll get 210 dollars, which is 3 dollars per sale. Yet, if I am full-time (40 hours) and produce the same effort, that's 140 sales... and that is 1400 dollars, which is 10 dollars per sale. That's a big difference considering the same effort. I am being penalized for being part-time. They give out a lot of office prizes, tvs, laptops, etc., ...I'm figuring a lot of the money that is used to get those prizes, PROBABLY is coming out of my own pocket.

Add new comment

2 + 0 =




Don't miss a post!

Sign up to be notified when we publish a new post:

Connect with us

Connect with the Secretary

Connect en español